Best Friends.

I’ve known mine for a long-ass time. Like … since we were 3. She took a bite out of my cheek in daycare.

I had the very fortunate opportunity of hanging out with some old friends today, completely off-chance. One of said friends has had it … not so easy as of late. There’s been a lot of loss and heartache for her. And it sucks.

But!!! I had the happenstance of running in to her and another friend out-and-about feting yet a third friend’s completion of her Master’s degree. Which is surprising to no one because she’s the ultimate overachiever and we would expect nothing less.

Two of them have been friends for about as long as my best friend and I have been. And you can tell. There’s an easiness. A chemistry. A bond. And it’s a really great thing to witness. I’ve known these girls for years and have always loved any opportunity to spend time with them. And I think part of the reason why I like hanging out with them so much is because of the friendship they share. They know each other. They know what makes the other happy or sad. They can give each other a hard time without feeling wary about stepping on toes or offending.

As I left, I started thinking about my best friend. She’s amazing. She is determined. She’s compassionate. She’s enthusiastic. She’s goofy. She’s fun. She’s smart.

While we haven’t always been at one another’s side, we’re always there. When my mom died, she was the first person I called, after my dad. She was driving to spend the weekend with another friend for her birthday. She pulled off the highway so I could get my half-words out. She didn’t cry on the phone, but did after we hung up. She called me four more times that day, including one at 3 a.m. as they were out at the bar. And all she wanted to tell me was that she loved me.

She hasn’t judged me. We’ve never really been in a fight. She’s amazing. And while I tell her I love her almost daily, I never feel it’s enough.

Point is, best friends aren’t a dime a dozen. They are worth fighting for and worth making an effort for. I feel extremely lucky to have such a wonderful friend in my life and I can never tell her enough how much I appreciate her. And as I’ve started to become a little ball of stress, I am put at ease simply by knowing I can text or email her to vent or whatever, and it’s OK. She’ll listen. She’s got a busy life, but she always takes the time to continue to be my friend. And it’s awesome.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

xoxo

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Best Friends.

  1. Shane says:

    You are an amazing best friend and I love you! This made me cry!!! I am so lucky to have you in my life!!!

  2. rrcempey says:

    Made me cry too! Best friends are amazing. I’m so glad you and Shane have each other!

  3. […] Shaner and I used to watch this video when we were kids … like nonstop. Really to the point where we wore out the VHS. […]

Chitter-Chatter