Wedinated: Kim and Rob.

Now here’s a treat. I asked Rob if he’d be willing to put it all out there and fill out a Wedinated post. The first evah from the dude’s side. I don’t think a single bone in my body really, truly thought he’d agree to it. But lo and behold!

Rob was one of Aussie’s g-men/Usual Suspects. Kim did a reading during our ceremony. Kim and I grew super close over emailing back and forth for months before the wedding. I instantly fell in love with both of them when we met in person.

Also … I think you’ll recognize a couple others in these pics.

Name: Robert

Age: Currently 27, but age 21 on wedding day

Occupation: Medical practitioner

Wedding location: St Joseph’s Catholic Church, Subiaco, Western Australia
Reception at Observation City, Scarborough WA

Wedding Date: 18th December 2005

Length of engagement: 1 year (to the day)

Tell me about your wedding: We had a traditional Catholic Mass, so most things were standardized (I’m not complaining – I would have sucked at writing vows).

What was your favorite part of your wedding?
There were a few (in no particular order):
1. Seeing Kim at the top of the aisle.
2. Getting her dad to choke up
3. The help and support of so many of our friends and family in most aspects of planning and execution.

What disasters did you avert … or not avert and how did you deal with it?

The biggest one I can think of was not having anywhere planned to do photos between the ceremony and reception. It had been thought of and then forgotten somewhere in the planning process. Luckily we had an awesome photographer who used what we had to come up with some really nice photos.

I also wore the wrong jacket through the ceremony, which was a size too big. By the time I realized, it was too late to swap back, so I was stuck with it. Oops!

Was there anything you would have done differently, or do you have any regrets about how something went?
No regrets, and I can’t think of anything I would have done differently. Not everything was 100% perfect, but it never is, and it doesn’t matter!

What was your biggest challenge in planning?

1. Trying to do it all while studying full-time.
2. We tried to minimize costs wherever possible by doing stuff ourselves. This is great in theory but takes a lot more time.

What lessons did you learn from planning or from the wedding itself?

Don’t take it too seriously. When you spend so much time preparing for something this big it’s easy to get caught up trying to make sure everything goes perfectly. I don’t think you can properly enjoy yourself if you’re worrying about that stuff the whole day.

What was your biggest “holyamazeballzI’mfreakininlove!” moment?
That’s tough because I’m not really the type of person that thinks that way. But seeing Kim walk down the aisle is probably as close to choking up as I’ve been. Since then, the birth of our three kids and the way she deals with being a mum day-to-day takes the cake.

What were your top 5 favorite things about your wedding?

1. Our unconventional Elvis-impersonator DJ.
2. At the reception we had a projector screen, on which were photos from earlier in the day for everyone to see. That was impromptu, but pretty cool.
3. NOT being burned during the best man speech


4. The dine-in McDonald’s cheeseburger meal 10 minutes before the ceremony started really hit the spot.
5. The bride (not in that order of course!)

Top 5 least favorite?

1. Missing out on the dessert buffet!
2. A couple of little things about the reception didn’t work out how I had planned which annoyed me a bit. I don’t think anyone else noticed though.
3. It went too quickly!

What was the worst piece of wedding advice you received?
That one is easy – “Are you sure you’re old enough/ready?”

The best?
Someone reminded me that our wedding was about us and to try and enjoy ourselves rather than spend the day trying to please everyone else. I still don’t believe them, but it sounds like good advice!

If you’ve been married for more than a few years, what have been some challenges?

For me the biggest challenges have been learning not to be selfish and so stubbornly independent (I’m still learning).
Also, studying full time and having kids is a bitch, but I wouldn’t change it.

What from your wedding vows/ceremony still holds the truest?

“In good times and in bad”

Any other bits of wisdom? not really 😛

Photos: Paul Bui

Tagged , ,

Chitter-Chatter

